Skip to content
You are here > Home > About the Ministries > Long-standing Service Award

Follow us

Long-standing Service Award

Email this page

The Ontario government recognizes municipal councillors and heads of council who have served 25 or more years on municipal council.  A second recognition has been created for those achieving 50 or more years of service.

How to submit a nomination for 2015

The Nomination Form should be completed by a municipal representative – either staff or an elected official. It should be submitted by mail, e-mail or fax to your local Municipal Services Office. Nominations for the 2015 recognition should be received by March 31, 2016.


Nominees must have:

  • 25 years or more or 50 years or more of service as of December 1 of the nomination year (service does not have to be consecutive or with the same municipality)

Past Recipients

2015 Recipients – 25 years

  • JoAnn Moen, Councillor, Township of Lake of the Woods
  • Peter Dykie Jr., Councillor, Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury
  • Maureen Ralph, Deputy Mayor, Township of East Zorra-Tavistock 

2014 Recipients – 25 years

  • André Rhéaume, Councillor, Town of Hearst
  • Carl J. Zehr, Mayor, City of Kitchener
  • Colin Best, Councillor, Town of Milton
  • E. W. (Ted) Linley, Councillor, Municipality of Huron Shores
  • Geoff Lorentz, Councillor, Regional Municipality of Waterloo
  • Gordon Campbell, Councillor, Municipality of Huron Shores
  • Grant Walker, Councillor, Township of The Archipelago
  • Helen MacLeod, Councillor, Township of Champlain
  • Jamie McGarvey, Mayor, Town of Parry Sound
  • Keith MacDonald, Councillor, County of Prince Edward
  • Marianne Wilkinson, Councillor, City of Ottawa
  • Rex Smith, Councillor/Deputy Reeve, Village of Burk's Falls
  • Sandra J. Talbot, Councillor, City of Woodstock

2013 Recipients – 25 years

  • Alan Broad, Councillor, Township of Dawn-Euphemia
  • Aubrey Churchill, Reeve, Township of Drummond-North Elmsley
  • Betty Noble, Councillor, Municipality of Gordon/Barrie Island
  • Bob Sweet, Mayor, Town of Petawawa
  • Carl A. Tinney, Reeve, Township of Faraday
  • Dave Kilgour, Councillor, City of Greater Sudbury
  • Eltjo Wiersema, Mayor, Township of Dawson
  • Frank Dale, Councillor, City of Mississauga
  • Frank Scarpitti, Mayor, City of Markham
  • Gael Miles, Councillor, City of Brampton
  • Ian Forrest, Mayor, Township of Perth East
  • James McIntyre, Mayor, Township of Southwold
  • Jim Collard, Councillor, Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake
  • Jim Foubister, Councillor, City of Sarnia and County
  • John Sprovieri, Councillor, City of Brampton
  • John Taylor, Councillor, City of Burlington
  • Lonny Napper, Mayor, Township of Plympton-Wyoming
  • Lorraine Huard, Councillor, Township of Schreiber
  • Lynn Orchard, Councillor, Township of MacDonald, Meredith & Aberdeen Additional
  • Maria Harding, Reeve, Municipality of Shuniah
  • Nando Iannicca, Councillor, City of Mississauga
  • Patrick Garside, Councillor, Township of Hilton
  • Russell F. Powers, City Councillor, City of Hamilton
  • Susan Fennell, Mayor, City of Brampton
  • Terry McKay, Deputy Mayor, Township of Chatsworth
  • Thomas Ernest Gregory (Tom) Jackson, Councillor, City of Hamilton
  • Timothy J. Molloy, Councillor, Village of Merrickville-Wolford
  • Tony Dalimonte, Councillor, County of Haldimand
  • Vince Judge, Deputy Mayor, Municipality of North Perth
  • W.J. (Bud) Polhill, Councillor, City of London 

2012 Recipients – 25 years

  • Evelyn Buck, Councillor, Town of Aurora
  • Herb Scott, Mayor, Township of Athens
  • John Aker, Councillor, City of Oshawa
  • Lorenz W. Kelo, Councillor, Township of North Algona/ Wilberforce
  • Morley Bowman, Councillor, Town of Essex

2011 Recipients – 25 years

  • Douglas G. Martin, Councillor, Region of Niagara
  • Douglas Holyday, Councillor, City of Toronto
  • George Marshall, Councillor, Region of Niagara
  • Gloria Lindsay Luby, Councillor, City of Toronto
  • Maria Augimeri, Councillor, City of Toronto
  • Dennis Staples, Mayor, Town of Smiths Falls
  • Diane Holmes, Councillor, City of Ottawa
  • Ronald Gerow, Mayor, Township of Havelock-Belmont-Methuen
  • George Maroosis, Councillor, City of North Bay
  • Richard (Dick) Beitz, Mayor, Township of Laird
  • William Siemon, Councillor, Municipality of Huron East  

Recipients – 50 years

  • Austin Hunt, Mayor, Township of Billings, 2005
  • Bill Thake, Mayor, Village of Westport, 2010
  • Jack Wilson, Mayor, Township of Laurentian Valley, 2014
  • Johnny Whitteker, Councillor, Township of South Dundas, 2005